North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2011 Chair Jiwen Chen


I am truly honored to serve as the Chair of the North Jersey Section (NJ ACS) this year. I feel extremely fortunate to have worked with a number of officers and volunteers who have made our Section one of the most active within the ACS. It is truly remarkable that throughout the years NJ ACS has been carried forward solely by volunteers: a group of dedicated and highly energized individuals who have sacrificed their family time to serve the organization. Without them, none of the many wonderful activities organized by the Section would have occurred.

The year 2011 is designated as the International Year of Chemistry, a joint initiative between the IUPAC and UNESCO. It celebrates the achievements of chemistry and its contributions to the well-being of mankind. For more than a decade, the NJ ACS has had several extraordinary public outreach programs. The National Chemistry Week is an annual event that takes place at the Liberty Science Center each October, where families in our communities enjoy hands-on science activities and students from grades K to 12 participate in poster contests. Project SEED, on the other hand, is designed to encourage economically disadvantaged high school students to pursue careers in chemical sciences. In additions, NJ ACS sponsors the biennial Sister Marian José Smith Award for Excellence in Education to recognize a college professor for inspiring students and launching them on successful careers in chemistry. Furthermore, the Section has been participating in the Chemistry Olympiad. In the last two years, students from our Section won Gold and Silver medals in this prestigious competition.

We have an exciting year ahead of us. In addition to the regular topical group meetings, several NJ ACS events may be of interests to you. In March, the Chemistry as a Life Science Symposium has an exciting lineup of speakers. In June, the National Organic Chemistry Symposium will be held at Princeton University with several Section members as key organizers. In November, the Baekeland Medal will be presented to an American Chemist under the age of 40 at the Baekeland Symposium where NJ ACS members come together and enjoy cutting edge science and an opportunity to interact with leading scientists.

Thank you again for supporting the Section. I look forward to meeting you in one of the NJ ACS events. Should you have any comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate to drop me a line at

Jiwen Chen, Ph.D.
2011 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS
2011 NJ-ACS Annual Report Highlights

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman