North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2006 Chair Steve Waller

My fellow members of the ACS,

I am honored to represent you as the 2006 chair of the North Jersey Section. I feel very fortunate to be involved with very motivated volunteers who do great things for chemistry and chemists. Before I volunteered to help with local ACS events, I did not realize how important our society was to advancing our profession, and I did not realize how many people it took to make it all happen.

Since 1998, I have seen what this section can accomplish when volunteers work together. For some, their efforts have been hours of commitment to section activities, and their efforts have made a huge difference in the lives of many. For their efforts, we are grateful.We have also been lucky to have many that give what time they can at local events and programs, and they too have made our section successful. For every member concerned about the future of chemistry, we have plenty of time-limited opportunities for them to make a difference, like judging high school student posters for two hours once a year or helping send out emails for publicity. Every volunteer is important!

In 2006, our section will continue doing everything it has done so well over the years, including Project SEED, National Chemistry Week, Teacher Affiliates, technical programming, and much more. As chair, I will do all I can to assist with these programs. I have already begun to work on enhancing other programs in our section. In collaboration with the ACS Division of Polymeric Materials Sciece and Engineering (PMSE), we will be having a special polymeric materials science day next fall. This will feature a professional symposium, poster session, younger chemists’ career counseling, and polymers teaching workshop. If you are interested in this topic, contact me, so you can be part of this important event as the details are put into place.

I have also started meeting with our state and federal legislators on issues that are important to chemists in North Jersey. As your chair, I need your input on legislative science issues, so I can present your issues to our section government affairs committee for discussion and then communicate your issues to those in Trenton and Washington, DC who decide on laws and appropriations that can positively or negatively affect our profession. If you are not signed up, take a moment to register as a member of the ACS Legislative Action Network at, so you are informed on what is happening in our government. If we do not defend chemistry in our government, who will?

What is your vision of chemistry in our world? Whatever it is, the ACS is here to help you accomplish it.You can build a professional network.You can discover new career paths.You can help a Boy Scout troop or Girl Scout troop see that chemistry is fun.You can be the person introducig some big name speaker. The future of our profession and our world’s view of chemistry are in our hands. Together, we can make great things happen. It takes very little time and reaps so much more.

The value of my own membership was not achieved until I allowed myself to become valuable to the ACS and our members. Please contact me if you want to discover the real value to your ACS membership or if you have additional ideas on how our section can better represent your interests.


Steve Waller
2006 Chair
ACS-North Jersey Section

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman