North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2023 Chair Justyna Sikorska

Welcome to the North Jersey Section of ACS!

Justyna Sikorska, Ph.D.

It is a great honor to serve as a Chair for 2023, and I look forward to leading this incredible and diverse group of volunteers. I especially want to thank our chair Qi Gao and all our officers, members, and volunteers for continuing the impactful work within our chemistry community and making sure that the NJACS section is well-positioned to move forward into 2023.

It was a privilege to serve as an active member of the North Jersey section for the last five years and NMR topical group Chair in 2020. Being deeply involved in the NMR topical group through the heart of the COVID-19 pandemic allowed me to realize the power of virtual approaches and their ability to reach all corners of the earth and expand the reach of our section. Therefore, I will use this year as an opportunity to implement our gained expertise in running effective online, hybrid, and in-person meetings for our upcoming seminars and symposiums and make sure that our events are visible on social media. I hope that by embracing new ways of working, we will continue to identify opportunities to promote sharing scientific knowledge broadly.

My goals for 2023 start with supporting our diverse topical groups and committees in organizing exciting seminars, symposia, and events to drive the exploration of ground-breaking research. The NJ ACS topical groups are comprised of talented scientists in the interdisciplinary fields of chemistry, including Mass Spectrometry, Chromatography, NMR Spectroscopy, Organic Chemistry, Minority Affairs, Women Chemists Committee, Younger Chemists, and Teacher Affiliates. The section will also host the Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Symposium this year.

We will also continue to work with NJACS volunteers on numerous public outreach programs, including Project SEED, National Chemistry Week, and the Chemistry Olympiad. In addition, we will help with the organization of the popular ChemExpo, the Community Nights at the Liberty Science Center (LSC), and the science booth during the Edison Day street fair.

Finally, I encourage all of you to reach out to me with ideas and suggestions on how to continue making the NJACS even better and get actively involved with exciting activities related to chemical sciences.

Justyna Sikorska, Ph.D.
2023 Chair, North Jersey Section of ACS

P.S. Not a member of the North Jersey section of ACS? Please join us by signing up here

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2023 Justyna Sikorska

2022 Qi Gao

2021 Mirlinda Biba

2020 Cecilia Marzabadi

2019 Amjad Ali

2018 Miriam Gulotta

2017 Landon Greene

2016 Luciano Mueller

2015 Ron Kong

2014 Monica Sekharan

2013 Jefferson Tilley

2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois

2011 Jiwen Chen

2010 Ambarish Singh

2009 Joseph Potenza

2008 Michael Miller

2007 Diane Krone

2006 Stephen Waller

2005 Jacqueline Erickson

2004 Anne Kelly

2003 Ratna Shekhar

2002 John Penna

2001 Bill Suits

2000 Les McQuire

1999 Susan Fahrenholtz

1998 Alan Cooper

1997 Anita J. Brandolini

1996 Michael P. Ferro

1995 Joe Stoner

1994 Malcolm Sturchio

1993 Ann Grant Geoetz

1992 Valerie J. Kuck

1991 George E. Heinze

1990 Jeannette E. Brown

1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl

1988 Richard W.J. Carney

1987 Raymond Baylouny

1986 Maureen G. Chan

1985 Dorit L. Noether

1984 Stan S. Hall

1983 George Luther III

1982 Sister Marian José Smith

1981 Arthur D. Dawson

1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby

1979 Roland F. Hirsch

1978 Frederick W. Bollinger

1977 Heinz D. Roth

1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff

1975 Galen W. Ewing

1974 Arnold D. Lewis

1973 Richard W.J. Carney

1972 Gerald Smolinsky

1971 George E. Heinze

1970 Howard H. Heller

1969 Neil M. Mackenzie

1968 Julian J. Leavitt

1967 Samuel M. Gerber

1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins

1965 Paul V. Smith

1964 John L. Lundberg

1963 Albert W. Meyer

1962 Lawrence T. Eby

1961 E.T. Theimer

1960 William Rieman, III

1959 H.Herbert Fox

1958 Ellis V. Brown

1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner

1956 V.N. Morris

1955 Karl A. Folkers

1954 Cecil L. Brown

1953 John Lee

1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee

1950-51 George L. Royer

1949-50 F.R. Mayo

1948-49 H.F. Wakefield

1947-48 I.D. Gerard

1946-47 W.J. Sparks

1945-46 R.E. Waterman

1944-45 H.E. Riley

1943-44 E.R. Allen

1942-43 C.S. Fuller

1941-42 D.L. Cottle

1940-41 R.T. Major

1939-40 R.J. Moore

1939 R.H. Gerke

1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke

1937 M.L. Crossley

1936-37 R.B. Sosman

1936 W.T. Read

1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read

1933-34 J.H. Schmidt

1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell

1931 G.M. Maverick

1930-31 L.V. Redman