North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2020 Chair Cecilia Marzabadi

Greetings North Jersey Section!

Cecilia Marzabadi

It is my great honor to serve as your 2020 Chair for the Section. As a 20+ year member of the section, I have seen the changes and the challenges present in the Section. I also know a good number of the dedicated, section volunteers who work to make the NJACS one of the best sections in the US. I look forward to working with these volunteers to promote the value of the Society to our existing members and to recruit new members to our vibrant section.

Our Section has a diverse array of topical/discussion groups that hold meetings in areas such as: Organic Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Mass Spectrometry, Drug Metabolism, Chromatography, Minority Chemists, Women Chemists Committee, Younger Chemists Committee, Senior Chemists Committee and Teacher Affiliates. No matter what your interest, there is a topical group for you. In addition to monthly or bimonthly meetings, these groups also hold symposia. This is in addition to the Baekeland Award Symposium held biannually and this year on November 15th, 2019. These symposia and meetings hold great benefit for the community to bring us together and to serve as an opportunity for networking and for the exchange of ideas. I invite you to attend and to get to know what the NJACS is all about.

Section members also participate in a range of outreach activities including: National Chemistry Week, Chemistry Expo, the Chemistry Olympiad and Earth Day. In the upcoming year, we strive to have greater interactions with our college chapters and chemistry clubs. Student chapters will be encouraged to participate in an Earth Day competition on sustainable, green chemistry. We also will strive to expand our activities with neighboring ACS Sections. We plan have greater outreach to the general public through Science Cafes in our local communities.

We also will reach out to some of our underserved populations in the area to increase their participation and representation in the Chemical Enterprise. Our section encompasses a region with great diversity in its population and this should be reflected in our Society. As a member of the National Women Chemists Committee, my efforts have been particularly focused on promoting and retaining women in the academic and industrial workforces. Though we have made good progress in this area, much work remains to be done. Efforts will be made in the section to make chemistry a more “inclusive science” through our interactions with underrepresented colleagues, communities and schools and through mentoring efforts such as ACS Project SEED.

I plan to continue some of the efforts of past-Chairs to improve communication with members within the section using enhanced social media channels. In addition, I encourage our members to continue to stay informed by visiting the section’s website and by reading the NY and NJ newsletter, The Indicator, to check for upcoming meetings and events in the area. In addition, a member survey will be distributed electronically to gauge the needs of the section and to better make plans for future activities.

Thank-you for this opportunity, I look forward to working with the volunteers and members of the NJACS.

2020 Chair, Cecilia Marzabadi

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2023 Justyna Sikorska

2022 Qi Gao

2021 Mirlinda Biba

2020 Cecilia Marzabadi

2019 Amjad Ali

2018 Miriam Gulotta

2017 Landon Greene

2016 Luciano Mueller

2015 Ron Kong

2014 Monica Sekharan

2013 Jefferson Tilley

2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois

2011 Jiwen Chen

2010 Ambarish Singh

2009 Joseph Potenza

2008 Michael Miller

2007 Diane Krone

2006 Stephen Waller

2005 Jacqueline Erickson

2004 Anne Kelly

2003 Ratna Shekhar

2002 John Penna

2001 Bill Suits

2000 Les McQuire

1999 Susan Fahrenholtz

1998 Alan Cooper

1997 Anita J. Brandolini

1996 Michael P. Ferro

1995 Joe Stoner

1994 Malcolm Sturchio

1993 Ann Grant Geoetz

1992 Valerie J. Kuck

1991 George E. Heinze

1990 Jeannette E. Brown

1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl

1988 Richard W.J. Carney

1987 Raymond Baylouny

1986 Maureen G. Chan

1985 Dorit L. Noether

1984 Stan S. Hall

1983 George Luther III

1982 Sister Marian José Smith

1981 Arthur D. Dawson

1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby

1979 Roland F. Hirsch

1978 Frederick W. Bollinger

1977 Heinz D. Roth

1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff

1975 Galen W. Ewing

1974 Arnold D. Lewis

1973 Richard W.J. Carney

1972 Gerald Smolinsky

1971 George E. Heinze

1970 Howard H. Heller

1969 Neil M. Mackenzie

1968 Julian J. Leavitt

1967 Samuel M. Gerber

1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins

1965 Paul V. Smith

1964 John L. Lundberg

1963 Albert W. Meyer

1962 Lawrence T. Eby

1961 E.T. Theimer

1960 William Rieman, III

1959 H.Herbert Fox

1958 Ellis V. Brown

1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner

1956 V.N. Morris

1955 Karl A. Folkers

1954 Cecil L. Brown

1953 John Lee

1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee

1950-51 George L. Royer

1949-50 F.R. Mayo

1948-49 H.F. Wakefield

1947-48 I.D. Gerard

1946-47 W.J. Sparks

1945-46 R.E. Waterman

1944-45 H.E. Riley

1943-44 E.R. Allen

1942-43 C.S. Fuller

1941-42 D.L. Cottle

1940-41 R.T. Major

1939-40 R.J. Moore

1939 R.H. Gerke

1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke

1937 M.L. Crossley

1936-37 R.B. Sosman

1936 W.T. Read

1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read

1933-34 J.H. Schmidt

1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell

1931 G.M. Maverick

1930-31 L.V. Redman