North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2018 Chair Miriam Gulotta

To members of the North Jersey Section:

Miriam Gulotta

Becoming the 2018 Chair of the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society (NJACS) is an immense honor as well as a daunting responsibility. First, I want to thank all the people who participate in NJACS topical groups, symposia, SEED mentors/mentees, College Chapters, the Chemistry Olympiad, the Chemistry Olympics, ChemExpo and all the other NJACS involved events. It’s you who are both the face and the strength of our section.

As a teacher, I view the world as a field of educational opportunities and being the chair of the NJ-ACS gives me the opportunity to encourage our over 4000 members to take full advantage of their NJ-ACS membership. I encourage you to

  • Increase and update your knowledge by participating in technical topical groups including chromatography, mass spectroscopy, drug metabolism and organic chemistry and by attending scientific symposia like the upcoming Baekeland Symposium on December 8.
  • Learn new ideas and discuss implementing the new standards by Interacting with other high school teachers by joining the teacher affiliates group, the American Association of Chemistry Teachers (AACT) and attending ChemTag meetings.
  • Join a College level student chapter or high school club or agree to speak at one of their events or become a chemistry coach with a teacher.
  • Bring your kids or someone else’s to ChemExpo to celebrate National Chemistry Week (October).
  • Mentor an economically disadvantaged high school student in your lab through project SEED or introduce younger kids from economically disadvantaged school districts to science through Community Nights at the Liberty Science Center.
  • Become a judge and advise some great high school students at the NJIT Chemistry Olympics or become involved with the International Chemistry Olympiad.

My background with the ACS and my goals have always been and continue to be for greater outreach. I have two goals for my time as your chair:

  1. Outreach from within. There were 4317 eligible voters in this year’s NJACS election but only 11.7% or 507 people took the time to vote. Only a fraction of that group are members of topical groups and/or are participants in other 2017 events. If every active member could bring one nonactive member to an event we could vastly increase our ability to fulfill our mission: to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of our communities. In 2018 I want to see increases in both active members and voters.
  2. Outreach to economically disadvantaged communities: My involvement in education and outreach indicates that these kids lack opportunities and mentors but not enthusiasm or aptitude for science. In 2018, I want to initiate a relationship between NJACS and a Boys and Girls Club in one of these areas and to hold at least 1 lesson there.

Thanks to everyone in NJACS for giving me this amazing opportunity to serve. If you are interested in the NJACS and want direction on how to proceed or if you have any ideas or suggestions for us please contact me at

Dr. Miriam Gulotta
2018 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2023 Justyna Sikorska

2022 Qi Gao

2021 Mirlinda Biba

2020 Cecilia Marzabadi

2019 Amjad Ali

2018 Miriam Gulotta

2017 Landon Greene

2016 Luciano Mueller

2015 Ron Kong

2014 Monica Sekharan

2013 Jefferson Tilley

2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois

2011 Jiwen Chen

2010 Ambarish Singh

2009 Joseph Potenza

2008 Michael Miller

2007 Diane Krone

2006 Stephen Waller

2005 Jacqueline Erickson

2004 Anne Kelly

2003 Ratna Shekhar

2002 John Penna

2001 Bill Suits

2000 Les McQuire

1999 Susan Fahrenholtz

1998 Alan Cooper

1997 Anita J. Brandolini

1996 Michael P. Ferro

1995 Joe Stoner

1994 Malcolm Sturchio

1993 Ann Grant Geoetz

1992 Valerie J. Kuck

1991 George E. Heinze

1990 Jeannette E. Brown

1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl

1988 Richard W.J. Carney

1987 Raymond Baylouny

1986 Maureen G. Chan

1985 Dorit L. Noether

1984 Stan S. Hall

1983 George Luther III

1982 Sister Marian José Smith

1981 Arthur D. Dawson

1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby

1979 Roland F. Hirsch

1978 Frederick W. Bollinger

1977 Heinz D. Roth

1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff

1975 Galen W. Ewing

1974 Arnold D. Lewis

1973 Richard W.J. Carney

1972 Gerald Smolinsky

1971 George E. Heinze

1970 Howard H. Heller

1969 Neil M. Mackenzie

1968 Julian J. Leavitt

1967 Samuel M. Gerber

1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins

1965 Paul V. Smith

1964 John L. Lundberg

1963 Albert W. Meyer

1962 Lawrence T. Eby

1961 E.T. Theimer

1960 William Rieman, III

1959 H.Herbert Fox

1958 Ellis V. Brown

1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner

1956 V.N. Morris

1955 Karl A. Folkers

1954 Cecil L. Brown

1953 John Lee

1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee

1950-51 George L. Royer

1949-50 F.R. Mayo

1948-49 H.F. Wakefield

1947-48 I.D. Gerard

1946-47 W.J. Sparks

1945-46 R.E. Waterman

1944-45 H.E. Riley

1943-44 E.R. Allen

1942-43 C.S. Fuller

1941-42 D.L. Cottle

1940-41 R.T. Major

1939-40 R.J. Moore

1939 R.H. Gerke

1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke

1937 M.L. Crossley

1936-37 R.B. Sosman

1936 W.T. Read

1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read

1933-34 J.H. Schmidt

1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell

1931 G.M. Maverick

1930-31 L.V. Redman