North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2017 Chair Landon Greene

Dear North Jersey Section Members,

Landon Greene

Thank you all for the opportunity to serve as the 2017 Chair of the North Jersey Section of the ACS. I am honored to have the luxury of leading forward a very successful and impactful section. I would like to thank all our leaders, volunteers, members and community for what they have done to make this section great. I am confident, with such a strong program, we can improve upon this success in 2017.

Our section continues to have the vision to “…improve peopleʼs lives through the transforming power of science.” As your Chair, I support this vision and believe it is my duty to empower our section to do so. My top priority this year will be to engage our members and community to help empower them in their scientific pursuits, to fulfill our vision.

My focus this year will be around the following strategic goals:

  • Engage our members to understand and support their interests in ACS. Foster their career and professional development.
  • Improve the sustainability of our section through actively recruiting future leaders and improving communication.
  • Promote the public recognition and appreciation of chemists and chemistry by supporting educational and community outreach programs.
  • Increase section membership by enhancing our programs and supporting the interests of our constituents.

These goals align with the strategic plan for ACS and the North Jersey Section. These goals will be achieved by implementing several new initiatives and enhancing those already in place. Most importantly, these goals will strengthen our events. Events this year include (but are not limited to):

  • Professional activities: Topical groupsʼ seminars/symposia, Baekeland Award Symposium,
    Careers in Transition meetings
  • Educational programs: National Chemistry Week at the Liberty Science Center, Chemistry
    Olympiad, Earth Day activities
  • Community outreach: Project SEED, street fairs, Community Nights at the Liberty Science

For more events and information please visit us at and follow us on Facebook.

This year, I look forward to communicating with all of you and I encourage you to be involved in some of our events. Please feel free to contact me with any thoughts, ideas, or suggestions at

Landon Greene, PhD
2017 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman