North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2016 Chair Luciano Mueller

Dear North Jersey Section Members,

Luciano Mueller

It is a great honor for me to serve as the Chair of the North Jersey Section of the ACS (NJACS) in 2016. I thank my colleagues on the executive committee, the topical group chairs, and the many volunteers who have contributed to numerous section activities and events throughout this year. I also want to take this opportunity to thank the members of the Monmouth Section for their active participation in events upon merging with the North Jersey Section. My distinguished predecessors have set a high bar of excellence in their service to the NJACS. Their dedication and service have inspired me to work diligently serving our members as well as strengthening our local section in the coming year.

As your next chair person, I will continue to promote the numerous activities and events that the NJACS supports. Strengthening member participation in section activities will be one of my top priorities. To maintain the vibrant activity of our local section, I warmly welcome members to donate a portion of their precious time and valuable expertise.

The North Jersey Section is the home of many dynamic, diverse topical groups and committees that are comprised of talented scientists in various fields of chemistry, including the Mass Spectrometry Discussion Group, Drug Metabolism Discussion Group, Chromatography Group, NMR Discussion Group, Organic Topical Group, Teacher Affiliates, Metro Women Chemists Committee, Younger Chemists Committee, and Careers in Transition Committee. These groups offer exciting seminars, symposia, and events throughout the year that provide unique opportunities for continuous education and networking. Because these groups do a great job promoting our organization with their monthly meetings and periodic symposia, I would like to explore ways to strengthen and support topical and discussion groups in return. Please check our website at for activities throughout the year.

Attracting new members to join the ACS and retaining existing members will be key to our section’s future success. I plan to seek expert advice and support from parent organization on how to increase membership. An effective way of increasing membership is to promote job creation for chemistry professionals within the section territory. In recent years, there has been a steady decline of chemistry jobs in our area. I would like to explore whether the North Jersey Section perhaps could utilize its limited resources and networking capability to be of assistance in attracting to the section area new businesses that provide chemistry related jobs.

In closing, I am looking forward to an eventful year for our section and I am counting on your active participation in NJACS sponsored events, as well as your generous support and charitable donations. Lastly, I am looking forward to hearing from you to learn about your concerns and ideas for improving our section.

Luciano Mueller
2016 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS,

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2023 Justyna Sikorska

2022 Qi Gao

2021 Mirlinda Biba

2020 Cecilia Marzabadi

2019 Amjad Ali

2018 Miriam Gulotta

2017 Landon Greene

2016 Luciano Mueller

2015 Ron Kong

2014 Monica Sekharan

2013 Jefferson Tilley

2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois

2011 Jiwen Chen

2010 Ambarish Singh

2009 Joseph Potenza

2008 Michael Miller

2007 Diane Krone

2006 Stephen Waller

2005 Jacqueline Erickson

2004 Anne Kelly

2003 Ratna Shekhar

2002 John Penna

2001 Bill Suits

2000 Les McQuire

1999 Susan Fahrenholtz

1998 Alan Cooper

1997 Anita J. Brandolini

1996 Michael P. Ferro

1995 Joe Stoner

1994 Malcolm Sturchio

1993 Ann Grant Geoetz

1992 Valerie J. Kuck

1991 George E. Heinze

1990 Jeannette E. Brown

1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl

1988 Richard W.J. Carney

1987 Raymond Baylouny

1986 Maureen G. Chan

1985 Dorit L. Noether

1984 Stan S. Hall

1983 George Luther III

1982 Sister Marian José Smith

1981 Arthur D. Dawson

1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby

1979 Roland F. Hirsch

1978 Frederick W. Bollinger

1977 Heinz D. Roth

1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff

1975 Galen W. Ewing

1974 Arnold D. Lewis

1973 Richard W.J. Carney

1972 Gerald Smolinsky

1971 George E. Heinze

1970 Howard H. Heller

1969 Neil M. Mackenzie

1968 Julian J. Leavitt

1967 Samuel M. Gerber

1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins

1965 Paul V. Smith

1964 John L. Lundberg

1963 Albert W. Meyer

1962 Lawrence T. Eby

1961 E.T. Theimer

1960 William Rieman, III

1959 H.Herbert Fox

1958 Ellis V. Brown

1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner

1956 V.N. Morris

1955 Karl A. Folkers

1954 Cecil L. Brown

1953 John Lee

1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee

1950-51 George L. Royer

1949-50 F.R. Mayo

1948-49 H.F. Wakefield

1947-48 I.D. Gerard

1946-47 W.J. Sparks

1945-46 R.E. Waterman

1944-45 H.E. Riley

1943-44 E.R. Allen

1942-43 C.S. Fuller

1941-42 D.L. Cottle

1940-41 R.T. Major

1939-40 R.J. Moore

1939 R.H. Gerke

1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke

1937 M.L. Crossley

1936-37 R.B. Sosman

1936 W.T. Read

1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read

1933-34 J.H. Schmidt

1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell

1931 G.M. Maverick

1930-31 L.V. Redman