North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2014 Chair Monica Sekharan

Dear North Jersey Section Members,

Monica SekharanI would like to welcome new members, and thank all continuing members for your ongoing involvement with our section. Because of your dedication and enthusiasm, we are heading into 2014 with a great deal of positive momentum.

Our section?s new vision statement is “The North Jersey community of chemistry professionals will improve people?s lives.” For 88 years, our section has built a legacy of providing value to its members and giving back to our local communities. NJ-ACS provides opportunities to stay involved and advance in our profession, networks of members that share similar interests, and services to chemists and the community at large.

Visit to learn about section resources and upcoming events.

The NJ Section has an exciting program planned for 2014:

  • Our nationally recognized Careers in Transition group will continue to help those in transition and others seeking to enhance their careers.
  • Our award-winning outreach activities like the Project SEED program and the National Chemistry Week event at Liberty Science Center will be expanded as we collaborate with Turtleback Zoo for a new Earth Day event.
  • Leading edge speakers bring the latest developments and work saving ideas to the section?s vibrant topical group meetings.
  • Our next ACS Leadership Development session provides training for professional development with communication skills.
  • NJ-ACS will present the Award for Creativity in Molecular Design and Synthesis.
  • The section is planning a celebration to commemorate the Thomas Edison Laboratory as a National Historic Chemical Landmark. I am excited to be a part of our new strategic planning committee, which is dedicated to identifying section interests and addressing members? evolving needs.

As Chair, I will focus on the following strategic priorities and initiatives:

  • Broaden our value to meet a wider range of interests among scientists and attract new members with a focus on increasing younger membership.
  • Become a key resource for career information and guidance to help members with their professional growth.
  • Increase North Jersey Section member participation and community involvement to help promote the sciences.
  • Enhance NJ-ACS visibility by promoting the public recognition and appreciation of chemists and chemistry.

Thank you for the opportunity, honor, and privilege of serving the section as the 2014 Chair. I look forward to seeing you at upcoming NJACS events. Your ideas are welcome, feel free to contact me at

Monica Sekharan, Ph.D.
2014 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman