North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2012 Chair Amber Flynn Charlebois

My fellow members of the NJ ACS,

Amber_CharleboisI am truly honored to serve as the Chair of the North Jersey Section (NJ ACS) for 2012. It amazes me how the officers and volunteers in North Jersey have made our Section one of the most dynamic within the ACS and I look forward to working with this dedicated and creative group to continue in our support of the ACS mission: “Improving people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.”

The North Jersey Section is lucky to have so many active topical groups and committees, including the Mass Spectrometry Discussion Group, Chromatography Group, Organic Topical Group, Teacher Affiliates, NMR Topical Group, MetroWomen Chemists Committee, Younger Chemists Committee, and the most recent addition, the NJ Regulatory CMC and Quality Topical Group. Because these groups offer top-notch pro- gramming throughout the year, the section has numerous unique events being planned for 2012. In addition, the section will host the Chemistry as a Life Science Symposium XV in March 2012 at Rutgers. In response to the economic downturn, our Careers In Transition Committee will continue their monthly meetings, in order to assist our members with their employment needs. Finally, we will continue our public outreach activities such as Project SEED, National Chemistry Week, and the Chemistry Olympiad.

As Chair of the Section, I will forge a stronger bond between industrial and academic chemists so that we can develop ways of better preparing future chemists for the chemi- cal and pharmaceutical industries. I will also try to keep the wide-ranging and valuable activities of the Section in the national spotlight, so that we get the recognition we deserve for the efforts of our wonderfully dedicated members and volunteers. In addition, I will reach out to undergraduate student members at all North Jersey colleges and universi- ties and encourage them to take advantage of the local section’s topical groups and other programs, and the activities of the ACS as a whole.

As we move into 2012, I ask that you consider getting more involved in the North Jersey ACS and I encourage you to contact me with any thoughts, ideas and/or suggestions you may have for the section.

Amber Flynn Charlebois, PhD
2012 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2023 Justyna Sikorska

2022 Qi Gao

2021 Mirlinda Biba

2020 Cecilia Marzabadi

2019 Amjad Ali

2018 Miriam Gulotta

2017 Landon Greene

2016 Luciano Mueller

2015 Ron Kong

2014 Monica Sekharan

2013 Jefferson Tilley

2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois

2011 Jiwen Chen

2010 Ambarish Singh

2009 Joseph Potenza

2008 Michael Miller

2007 Diane Krone

2006 Stephen Waller

2005 Jacqueline Erickson

2004 Anne Kelly

2003 Ratna Shekhar

2002 John Penna

2001 Bill Suits

2000 Les McQuire

1999 Susan Fahrenholtz

1998 Alan Cooper

1997 Anita J. Brandolini

1996 Michael P. Ferro

1995 Joe Stoner

1994 Malcolm Sturchio

1993 Ann Grant Geoetz

1992 Valerie J. Kuck

1991 George E. Heinze

1990 Jeannette E. Brown

1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl

1988 Richard W.J. Carney

1987 Raymond Baylouny

1986 Maureen G. Chan

1985 Dorit L. Noether

1984 Stan S. Hall

1983 George Luther III

1982 Sister Marian José Smith

1981 Arthur D. Dawson

1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby

1979 Roland F. Hirsch

1978 Frederick W. Bollinger

1977 Heinz D. Roth

1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff

1975 Galen W. Ewing

1974 Arnold D. Lewis

1973 Richard W.J. Carney

1972 Gerald Smolinsky

1971 George E. Heinze

1970 Howard H. Heller

1969 Neil M. Mackenzie

1968 Julian J. Leavitt

1967 Samuel M. Gerber

1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins

1965 Paul V. Smith

1964 John L. Lundberg

1963 Albert W. Meyer

1962 Lawrence T. Eby

1961 E.T. Theimer

1960 William Rieman, III

1959 H.Herbert Fox

1958 Ellis V. Brown

1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner

1956 V.N. Morris

1955 Karl A. Folkers

1954 Cecil L. Brown

1953 John Lee

1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee

1950-51 George L. Royer

1949-50 F.R. Mayo

1948-49 H.F. Wakefield

1947-48 I.D. Gerard

1946-47 W.J. Sparks

1945-46 R.E. Waterman

1944-45 H.E. Riley

1943-44 E.R. Allen

1942-43 C.S. Fuller

1941-42 D.L. Cottle

1940-41 R.T. Major

1939-40 R.J. Moore

1939 R.H. Gerke

1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke

1937 M.L. Crossley

1936-37 R.B. Sosman

1936 W.T. Read

1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read

1933-34 J.H. Schmidt

1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell

1931 G.M. Maverick

1930-31 L.V. Redman