North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2008 Chair Michael Miller

My Fellow Members of the ACS,

I am honored to represent you as the 2008 American Chemical Society – North Jersey Section Chair. With the outstanding leadership of those that came before me, our Section has become the most productive and engaged local group in the country with a reported membership of nearly 7000. In fact, the NJ-ACS was recently presented a ChemLuminary Award for its performance by the National Society. On behalf of all of our members, I would like to thank Diane Krone, our past Chair, for her excellent management throughout 2007. I would also like to acknowledge the numerous other volunteers – from Executive Committee Members to Topical Group Leaders – throughout the Section for their dedication and continued involvement.

Over the past several years, I have been fortunate to observe, interact with, and get to personally know many of these individuals and numerous others who have dedicated their time and efforts to the betterment of the field and to the mission of extending and enhancing the human condition through science. My appreciation of the various disciplines and diversity of interests that our Section embodies stems from the opportunities which I have been given through my employment in the pharmaceutical industry, as well as my involvement in the American Chemical Society. These experiences have allowed me to see the very best that our Section has to offer. The commitment that the NJ-ACS has to the advancement of chemistry and the promotion of chemical research through the organization’s devotion to its members is a deserving goal and one that is paramount for the overall development of the chemical industry and general chemical education in the area. I continue to be humbled by the efforts of the dozens of core volunteers in our Section that tirelessly and passionately provide opportunities to the overall Section membership in the form of career events, technical meetings, symposia, networking avenues, and awards.

As Chair of the NJ-ACS, my goal is to provide leadership and support for future growth, the advancement of new ideas, and to continue to bring the national spotlight on the activities of the Section. I believe that the success of the field is dependent on capturing the imagination of today’s youth and thus attracting bright individuals to the sciences. It is therefore important to continue to promote and expand programs such as Project SEED and National Chemistry Week (NCW), as well create new innovative ways to build alignment throughout the various Topical Groups and seek new avenues of communication with and support from the local pharmaceutical companies and academic universities within the New Jersey area. I hope to continue to leverage the media to highlight the outstanding efforts of our members, thereby drawing attention to the lifesaving work and intellectual pursuit that our combined disciplines are involved in at all levels of our Section. We are truly at a crossroads within our field and through the hard work of our volunteers and partnership with our state and national legislatures we can impact the future development of the chemical community.

The year ahead promises to be an exciting one for our Section. In the Spring of 2008, we will be part of the “Middle Atlantic Regional Meeting” (MARM), while in the Fall, our Section will once again organize and execute the “Chemistry as a Life Symposium,” as well as bestow the second “Award for Creativity in Molecular Design and Synthesis.” Many on the Executive Committee, together with various Topical Groups, are planning a multidisciplinary “Section Meeting.” This will be a collaborative effort that hopes to combine our disciplines in a singular conference centered on innovation in the pharmaceutical sciences. I would encourage each of you to get involved at some level in the local section, and participate in the excellent programs that the numerous Topical Groups organize each year. These subsections vary in scope as they strive to fit each of our specific interests – from Organic Chemistry to Chromatography, from Drug Metabolism to Polymer Sciences, from Minority Affairs to Small Chemical Business. There is something for everyone.

I look forward to working for and with all of you throughout 2008.

Michael Miller
2008 Chair
ACS-North Jersey Section

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman