North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message From 2007 Chair Diane Krone

My Fellow Members of the ACS,

Greetings! I am excited to begin my term as chair of the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society and I thank you for your support. During the last several years I have discovered the seven wonders of the North Jersey Section and I would like to share them with you.

Our first wonder is our volunteers who generously donate their time and talent. They mentor our Project SEED students and judge the poster contest. This year’s SEED meeting will be held at Seton Hall University on September 24th. Our members volunteer to judge at the New Jersey Science Fair. They have helped prepare students to compete in the International Chemistry Olympiad. During National Chemistry Week our volunteers share the excitement of chemistry with the general public by presenting hands-on activities. This year we have two big events scheduled to celebrate “The Many Faces of Chemistry.” The first event is scheduled at Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison on October 21st. The second celebration will take place at Liberty Science Center on October 27th.

The theme for NCW brings me to the next two wonders of our section — multidisciplinarity and collaboration. The North Jersey Section has many active Topical Groups who have planned innovative programs. The Small Chemical Business Group meets on the third Thursday of every month. Along with their regular monthly meetings, the Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry Groups are planning a joint meeting for November. The Organic Topical Group provides excellent symposia for its members. Drug Metabolism is planning meetings for April, June, and October. The NMR Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month at the Woodbridge Hilton. The Minority Affairs Group and the Metro Women Chemists are planning joint meetings with our Student Affiliates. We are planning a Career Day for High School Students with the Teacher Affiliates Group and we hope to reactivate the Younger Chemists Committee. The Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Symposium and Presentation is also scheduled for this year.

The fourth and fifth wonders of our section are communication and networking. Read about all of the exciting events going on in our section in the Indicator and at our web site ( Publicize all the great things that are happening in your group. Participate in the NJACS Blog. Attend our meetings. Send me your innovative ideas and suggestions for improving the way we do things.

Service is our sixth wonder. Our Careers in Transition Group meets on the first Thursday of each month at FDU in Madison. Our Legislative Action Network is alive and well. If you are not already a member, why not join? Help us keep our legislators informed about the importance of chemistry to our state and nation. We are planning a Legislative Activity Day when we will visit with our local and national legislators. Join us.

The section’s seventh wonder is synergy. Because of the enthusiasm, energy, and professionalism of our members our section has been a leader in the American Chemical Society. I look forward to meeting you this year at the wonderful events sponsored by the North Jersey Section.

Diane Krone
2007 Chair
ACS-North Jersey Section

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman