North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Message from 2005 Chair Jackie Erickson

My fellow members of the ACS,

I would like to extend my greetings to all the members of the North Jersey Section of the ACS. I am honored to have this opportunity to serve you as chair of the largest local section of the ACS, with almost 7000 members.

The year ahead is going to be an exciting one for the section, as we are sponsoring the Middle Atlantic Regional Meeting “Chemistry at the Crossroads of Science” at Rutgers University, which will be held May 22-25, 2005. This meeting will be a highlight of our section’s events this year, and is sure to be a success. MARM will feature world class technical programming and symposia tailored to the interests of the Mid Atlantic Region. There will be posters, vendor exhibits, career programs, and special events during the meeting. Also, one day will be devoted to Science Education and Careers, and will feature programming for students, parents and teachers. In addition, some of our committees such as the MetroWomen Chemists Committee and the Younger Chemists Committee will have programming and special events. I hope that many of you will attend or participate in this regional meeting.

In addition to MARM, our many topical groups and committees, including the Mass Spectrometry Discussion Group, the Chromatography Group, the Organic Topical Group, Teacher Affiliates, Younger Chemists, etc. will continue their programming throughout the year. Our Careers In Transition Committee will continue their monthly meetings, in order to help our members with their career needs.We will also continue our public outreach activities such as Project SEED, National Chemistry Week, and the Chemistry Olympiad.

Without the many dedicated volunteers who commit their time and energy, these activities would not occur, and I would like to thank all those who volunteer during the year. However, we need more member support and volunteers for these activities, and I would like to encourage you all to get involved in the section. In addition, as the needs of our members change, along with the changes in local industries, we will need to plan new activities and programs. I hope that you will send me your ideas and suggestions for the section.

I look forward to leading the section in 2005. I wish you all a Happy New Year and best wishes for 2005.

Jacqueline Erickson
2005 Chair – North Jersey Section ACS

Current & Past Chairs North Jersey Section, ACS

2021 Mirlinda Biba
2020 Cecilia Marzabadi
2019 Amjad Ali
2018 Miriam Gulotta
2017 Landon Greene
2016 Luciano Mueller
2015 Ron Kong
2014 Monica Sekharan
2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Flynn Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman