North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Executive Committee

Quick Links


Executive Committee Meetings

Section officers, councilors, committee chairs, topical group chairs, and section event organizers meet regularly at the Executive Committee Meeting to discuss topics of importance to running the section and representing the membership. All ACS members are welcome to attend these meetings and to become more involved in section activities. Meetings generally take place the last Monday of each month at 6:00 PM.


Next Executive Committee Meeting

When and where  (Please note venue):

Date:   Monday, Jan 28
Times 7:00 — Executive Committee Meeting: Dinner (Pizza – $5 at door)

Merck, 2000 Galloping Hill Road, Kenilworth, NJ
K-15, DDF cafeteria facility, USKEN-CR-15F-F1074-CAP12 [ Directions ]

You are required to contact Dr. Amjad Ali by email at prior to attending for security clearance.  [ Kenilworth Site Map ]

Annual Reports, Brochures, Bylaws, Documents


2019 Executive Committee

Chair (2019)

Dr. Amjad Ali
Merck Research Laboratories
2000 Galloping Hill Rd
Kenilworth, NJ 07033
(908) 740-3407

Chair Elect (2020)

Dr. Cecilia Marzabadi
Dept. of Chem. & Biochemistry
Seton Hall University
400 South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 761-9032

Past Chair (2018)

Dr. Miriam Gulotta
Dept. of Chem. & Env. Sci.
New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights
Newark, NJ 07102
m: (201) 414-3819
h: (973) 345-7111

Secretary (2018-2020)

Bettyann Howson
49 Pippins Way
Morris Township, NJ 07960
h: (973) 822-2575

Treasurer (2017-2019)

Jackie Erickson
33 Ronald Road
Lake Hiawatha, NJ 07034
(973) 713-8303

No. Jersey Section Office

Bettyann Howson
49 Pippins Way
Morris Township NJ 07960
(973) 822-2575

Councilors (Elected)


Diane Krone
Monica Sekharan

Michael Miller
Miriam Gulotta


John Piwinski
Susan Fahrenholtz
Ron Kong
Ray Baylouny


Jeannette Brown
Les McQuire
Bettyann Howson
Mirlanda Biba


Jasmine Lu
Amjad Ali
Bill Suits


Alan Cooper
Jackie Erickson
Amanda Peterson Mann


Tomeka Saxon Thompson
Steven Silverman
Mohammed Elshaer
Jonathan Ho

Other Contacts

Awards Committee Chair

Dr. Les McQuire
ACS North Jersey Section Awards Chair
17 Crown Drive,
Warren NJ 07059

Website & Planning Committee Chair

Alan Cooper
Cooper MedChem Consulting, LLC

Publicity Chair

Jeannette Brown
Hillsborough, NJ 08844.
Tel: 908-239-1515
Fax: 908-874-6177


Congratulations are in order to the members of the North Jersey Section who have reached 50, 60 and 70 years of service! We will honor and thank them for their service at the section’s Award Banquet on May 21, 2018.

Join us as we honor our volunteers and honor student

Date:::::::::: Monday, May 21, 2018
Times:::::::: 4:30 PM – Social
:::::::::::::::::: 5:30 PM – Presentation of Certificates & Awards to 50, 60 and 70 year members
:::::::::::::::::: 6:00 PM – Dinner
:::::::::::::::::: 7:00 PM – Presentation of Awards volunteers & students
Place::::::::: Fairleigh Dickinson University
:::::::::::::::::: College at Florham, Lenfell Hall in The Mansion
:::::::::::::::::: Madison, NJ
Cost:::::::::: $35.00 (pay at the door, or online here)
Register::: [ hereplease register by  Wednesday, May 16 (extended deadline )


Directions to campus and a campus map can be found at


Call (973)822-2575 or e-mail

50-Year Members

  • Mr. Cornell L. Adams
  • Mr. Stuart M. Bauer
  • Mr. Julius Frank Bitay
  • Dr. Lesser Blum
  • Dr. Joseph Bozzelli
  • Dr. Jui Chang Chuang
  • Dr. Allen Irving Cohen
  • Dr. Arthur Donovan Dawson
  • Mr. Joseph Charles Dettling
  • Dr. Stephen Walker Drew
  • Mr. Erginio Fernandez
  • Mr. Bernard Foss
  • Dr. George Gordimer
  • Dr. Allan L. Greenberg
  • Dr. Andrew Kaldor
  • Dr. Faizulla G. Kathawala
  • Mr. Richard Allen Kaufman
  • Mr. Harvey Lembeck Kellman
  • Dr. Gerald Kirshenbaum
  • Dr. Steven Jeffrey Lee
  • Mr. Vito J. Mancini
  • Ms. Joann Theresa Marzocco
  • Dr. Richard Millar Montgomery
  • Ms. Margaret Marion Mooney
  • Dr. Donald W. Murphy
  • Dr. Birendra Kumar Patnaik
  • Mr. Robert J. Penque
  • Ms. Bierce Riley
  • Dr. Gary Warner Sanderson
  • Dr. Alan Sherman
  • Dr. Jefferson W. Tilley
  • Mr. Richard William Tkach
  • Dr. Forrest Allen Trumbore
  • Dr. Yun Yen Tsong
  • Dr. Clara M. Watnick
  • Mr. William Fredrick Wright
  • Mr. Ronald Gilbert Yarger
  • Mr. Joel Barry Yudkovitz

60-Year Members

  • Mr. Seymour Baron
  • Mr. Leonard Berkowitz
  • Dr. Bruce M. Collins
  • Ms. Ramona T. Crosby
  • Dr. Mary Lease Deem
  • Dr. Arthur M. Felix
  • Mr. John K. Gillham
  • Dr. J. Brown Goehring
  • Mr. George E. Heinze
  • Mr. David Kristol
  • Dr. Julian Lakritz
  • Mr. Theodore Legatt
  • Dr. Donald J. Martin
  • Mr. John F. O Brien
  • Mr. Leonard Berkowitz
  • Dr. Jay A. Rashkin
  • Dr. Alvin Segal
  • Ms. Nancy C. Swanson
  • Dr. James J. Tietjen
  • Mr. Patrick Tolve
  • Dr. Herbert H. Waddell
  • Mr. C. J. Waitkus
  • Dr. George T. Wildman
  • Dr. David Zudkevitch

70-Year Members

  • Mr. Robert F. Bann
  • Dr. Murray S. Cohen
  • Dr. Robert Ehrlich
  • Dr. William Hodes
  • Dr. Horst Walter Hoyer
  • Dr. Herbert A. Lieberman
  • Dr. Charles Driscoll Mason
  • Dr. William Edward Rosen *
  • Mr. Ira Marcus Schafer


  • Dr. Neil W. Berst
  • Mr. William R. Bingham
  • Mr. James Harding
  • Dr. Henry T. Hoffman, Jr.


  • Mr. John Burton
  • Mr. Leonard Kenner
  • Mr. Harvey Segal


  • Dr. Frank A. Cutler, Jr.
  • Mr. Neil E. Gordon, Jr.
  • Mr. Dominic T. Walker


  • Dr. William B. Wright, Jr.


  • Dr. Dorothea H. Hoffman

* recently deceased