On August 18, 2009, the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society was awarded three ChemLuminary Awards during an award banquet at the Fall ACS meeting in Washington, DC. These awards, presented by the President of the ACS, were accepted by Dr. Michael M. Miller, 2008 NJ-ACS Section Chair, on behalf of the Section’s membership. (Video exerpts of the presentations can be viewed here: clip 1 and clip 2).

Specifically, the awards were for:

  1. Outstanding Performance by a Local Section, Very Large Size Category, 2008
  2. Greatest Community Involvement in Chemists Celebrate Earth Day 2008
  3. Outstanding Community Involvement in National Chemistry Week 2008

We thank all members of the No. Jersey Section who made 2008 a success!

From left to right: Bruce E. Bursten (Past President ACS), Michael Miller (2008 Chair North Jersey Section), Wayne Jones (Local Section Activities Committee Chair)

Members of the NJ-ACS 2009 Leadership Team. From left to right: Marilyn Gorman, Anita Brandolini, Les McQuire, Jeannette Brown, Joseph Potenza, Susan Fahrenholtz, Bettyann Howson, Michael Miller, Bill Suits, Diane Krone, Jacqueline Erickson, Janet Potenza, Anne Kelly, Maureen Chan