North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

May 12, 2022 – Baekeland Award Symposium

Congratulations to the 2021 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Winner!

The 2021 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award goes to Prof. Prashant K. Jain from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for his contribution to the field of materials science. Dr. Jain’s research has made impressive contributions to our understanding, on an atomic scale, of light-matter interactions, chemical transformation in nature and technology, and the inner workings of metal catalysts and photocatalysts.

Prashant Jain

Professor Prashant K. Jain

Professor of Chemistry and Alumni Scholar,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2021 Baekeland Symposium

Featuring Prof Jain as Keynote Speaker

Date: Thursday, May 12, 2022

Time: 1:00 PM

Place: Fairleigh Dickinson University   [ official campus directions ]

Contact: Qi Gao or

Note: This "2021" Symposium was postponed into 2022 due to the pandemic shutdown.

Invited Speakers

George Schatz

George Schatz

Robert W Field

Robert W Field

Paul Weiss

Paul Weiss

Naomi Halas

Naomi Halas


Program Agenda

1:00 - Registration

1:30 - Welcome AddressDr Qi Gao, Baekeland Symposium Chair

1:40 - 1. Professor George Schatz,
Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University

Nanoparticles, Plasmons and Theory

2:20 - 2. Robert W Field
Prof. Chemistry, Post-Tenure, MIT

Broken Patterns of Broken Patterns

3:00 - 3. Professor Paul Weiss,
UC Presidential Chair Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Bioengineering Distinguished Professor of Materials Science, University of California, Los Angeles

Plasmonic Approaches to Biology and Medicine

3:40 - Break / Refreshments

4:10 - 4. Professor Naomi Halas,
Stanley C. Moore Professor in Electrical & Computer Engineering and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics & Astronomy, Rice University

Nanomaterials and Light for Sustainability and Societal Impact

4:50 - Remarks and Baekeland Award Presentation
Natalie LaFranzo, ACS Director at Large
Dr. Qi Gao, NJ-ACS Section Chair

5:00 - Keynote: Professor Prashant Jain

The Photification of Chemical Manufacturing

5:50 - Closing remarks Mrs. Diane Krone, NJ-ACS Awards Chair

Speakers’ Bios