North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Nov 15, 2019 Baekeland Award Symposium

Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award for 2019

[ register | background | flyer | agenda | Indicator article ]

Baekeland Medal

Congratulations to the 2019 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Winner!

Neal Deveraj

Professor Neal K Deveraj

Professor of Chemistry, University of California, San Diego

2019 Baekeland Symposium

Featuring Prof Deveraj as Keynote Speaker

Date: Friday, November 15, 2019

Time: 1:00 PM

Place: Fairleigh Dickinson University   [ directions ]

Invited Speakers

Dr Sidney Hecht

Sidney Hecht

Dr Dinshaw Patel

Dinshaw Patel

Dr Amanda Garner

Amanda Garner

Dr James Collman

James Collman

Program Agenda:

1:00 - Registration / Snacks

1:30 - Welcome Address Dr Cecilia Marzabadi, Baekeland Symposium Chair

1:40 - Professor Sidney A. Hecht, Director, Biodesign Institute for BioEnergetics Professor, School of Molecular Sciences Arizona State University

Protein Synthesis with Non-canonical Amino Acids In Vitro and In Vivo

2:20 - Professor Dinshaw Patel, Professor and Abby Rockefeller Mauzé Chair in Experimental Therapeutics Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Sloan Kettering Institute

Structural Biology of CRISPR-Cas Surveillance Complexes

3:00 - Professor Amanda S. Garner, Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy, University of Michigan

Chemical Probing of Coding and Non-Coding RNA Biology

3:40 - Break / Refreshments

4:10 - Professor James M. Collman, George A. and Hilda M. Daubert Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus, Stanford University

From Theory to Practice: Invention of Reversible Respiration Inhibitors

4:50 - Baekeland Award Presentation Dr. Amjad Ali, NJ-ACS Section Chair

5:00 - Keynote: Professor Neal K Deveraj

Exploring the Lipid World

5:50 - Closing remarks Dr. Les McQuire, NJ-ACS Awards Chair

To Appear