North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Apr 20, 2017 – DMDG Spring Symposium and Vendor Exhibition

NJ-DMDG

2017 Spring Symposium & Vendor Exhibition

Sponsored by the

North Jersey ACS Drug Metabolism Discussion Group

“Translating Preclinical Drug Disposition in Clinical Development

Date:    April 20, 2017
Time:    8:00 am – 3:45 pm
Venue:  The Palace at Somerset Park, 333 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873 [ directions ]

Registration Information:

  • Pre-registration fee is $125 (pre-register by April 15, 2017).
  • Registration fee at the door is $150 (Checks only)
  • Registration fee is $10 for students and postdocs and $50 for faculty
  • Registration is free for unemployed

Please plan to pre-register as a group, as coordinated by a member of the NJACS DMDG Steering Committee List, below, from your organization.

  • If you have no DMDG member at your company, please contact Bo Wen (bo.1.wen@gsk.com) for registration.
  • Payments by personal or company checks. Sorry, credit cards are not accepted.
  • Checks should be made payable to: NJ Drug Metabolism Discussion Group.

Exhibitors:

  • Please contact Anima Ghosal (ghosala@aol.com) for information concerning exhibits

Program

“Translating Preclinical Drug Disposition in Clinical Development

8:00 a.m.

Registration / Continental Breakfast / Vendor Exhibit

9:00 a.m.

Introductory Remarks

Bo Wen, Chair, NJ DMDG

9:10 a.m.

Metabolomic and Transcriptomic Analysis of BCRP/Abcg2 and PGP/Abcb1 WT and Double KO Rat Tissues to Identify Endogenous, Dietary and Xenobiotic Substrates

Erin Schuetz, PhD, Member, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, St Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN

10:00 a.m.

Assays to Guide the Way at NCATS: Drug Transporters and Drug Efficacy

Matthew Hall, PhD, Biology Group Leader, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Chemical Genomics Center, National Institutes of Health, Rockville, MD

10:45 a.m.

Vendor Exhibit & Coffee Break

11:30 p.m.

Emerging Role of Non-P450 Enzymes in Drug Metabolism and Toxicity

Deepak Dalvie, PhD, Sr. Principal Investigator, Department of Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics, Celgene, San Diego, CA

12:15 p.m.

Lunch & Vendor Exhibit

1:45 p.m.

Is it Possible to Accurately Predict the Risk that a Drug Candidate Will Cause Idiosyncratic Drug Reactions?

Jack Uetrecht, PhD, Professor of Pharmacy and Medicine and the Canada Research Chair in Adverse Drug Reactions, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

2:30 p.m.

Vendor Exhibit & Coffee Break

3:00 p.m.

ADME Analysis of Therapeutic Peptides: Preserving Product Value

Jerome Hochman, PhD, Sr. Principal Scientist, Department of Pharmacokinetics Pharmacodynamics and Drug Metabolism, Merck & Co. West Point, PA

3:45 p.m.

Program Closure



top

NJ-DMDG Steering Committee 2016-2017
Name Company E-mail address Responsibility
Bo Wen GSK bo.1.wen@gsk.com Chair, 2016-17
Manthena Varma Pfizer Manthena.V.Varma@pfizer.com Chair Elect, 2017-18
Zhao pie Zeng Sanofi Zhaopie.Zeng@sanofi-aventis.com Treasurer
Anima Ghosal Kean Univ ghosala@aol.com Vendor Liaison
Lauren Aleksunes Rutgers Univ aleksunes@eohsi.rutgers.edu Past Chair, 2015-16
Richard Tschirret-Guth Merck richard_tschirretguth@merck.com Past Chair, 2014-15
Wing Lam Janssen R&D wlam@its.JnJ.com Past Chair, 2013-14
Allen Jones   allen.n.jones@verizon.net Past Chair, 2012-13
Lian Zhou BMS Lian.zhou@bms.com Past Chair, 2011-12
Imad Hanna Novartis imad.hanna@novartis.com Member
Ron Kong PTC Therapeutics rkong@ptcbio.com Member
Lei Tang Sanofi Lei.Tang@sanofi-aventis.com Member
Li Yu Roche li.yu.ly1@roche.com Member
Yaofeng Cheng BMS Yaofeng.Cheng@bms.com Member
Virna Schuck Novartis virna.schuck@novartis.com Member
Naiyu Zheng BMS naiyu.zheng@bms.com Member
Beth Joshi Merck elizabeth.joshi@merck.com Member
Matthew Hoffmann Celgene mjhoffman@celgene.com Member
Karen H. Dingley Celgene kdingley@celgene.com Member
Carolina Berthiaume   carolina.berthiaume@gmail.com Member
Maria Markowska   cMmaryla5@yahoo.com Member


top

Directions to the Palace at Somerset Park

    333 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873
    Phone: 732-302-9922

From the New Jersey Turnpike:

    Exit 10 to Interstate 287 North.
    Follow 10 miles to Exit 10 (527 New Brunswick -- South Bound Brook).
    Take Easton Ave towards South Bound Brook to first light,
    make left (Davidson Ave.)

From New York City:

    Lincoln Tunnel to N.J. Turnpike South.
    Follow N.J. Turnpike directions mentioned above.

From Route 287:

    If traveling north:

      Exit 10 (527 New Brunswick -- South Bound Brook).
      Follow sign towards Bound Brook, to light
      make left (Davidson Ave.)
    If traveling south:

      Exit 10 (527 New Brunswick).
      Left on Easton Ave., to light,
      make left (Davidson Ave).

From Newark Airport:

    Take NJ Turnpike South to Exit 10
    I-287 North to Exit 10 (Easton Ave)
    at first light, go left on Davidson Ave.
    Hotel immediately on left.

top

Top