North Jersey Section
American Chemical Society

Dec 6, 2013 Baekeland Award Symposium

Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award for 2013

[ register | background | flyer | agenda ] [ 2013 | 2015 | 2017 | 2019 ]

Congratulations to the 2013 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Winner!

Prof Christopher Chang

Prof Christopher Chang

Professor Christopher Chang

University of California, Berkeley

2013 Baekeland Symposium

Featuring Prof Chang as Keynote Speaker

Date: Friday, December 6, 2013

Time: 12:00 Noon

Place: Center for Integrative Proteomics Research, Room 120

Rutgers Busch Campus

174 Frelingheuysen Rd

Piscataway NJ 08854

Directions: map, etc

Parking: Visitors may park In Lots 58 & 58A without permits. The map shows parking lot locations. There will be Event Parking signs posted at Lots 58 & 58A.

Registration: $10 Professionals,

$5 Students, retirees, unemployed

Please register below.

Baekeland MedalPre-­Registration required by December 2, 2013 .

You may pay the registration fee online below, or make out a check to NJ-ACS and it mail to: Jacqueline Erickson, 33 Ronald Road, Lake Hiawatha, NJ 07034.

Please circulate this flyer to publicize the event.

Invited Speakers

Prof Ken Raymond

Prof Ken Raymond

Prof JoAnne Stubbe

Prof JoAnne Stubbe

Prof David MacMillan

Prof David MacMillan

Prof Michelle Chang

Prof Michelle Chang

Speakers' websites: [ Prof Raymond | Prof Stubbe | Prof C Chang | Prof MacMillan | Prof M Chang ]

Program Agenda:

12:00 - Registration / Snacks

12:30 - Welcome Address Dr. Monica Sekharan, Baekeland Symposium Chair

12:40 - Prof. Ken Raymond The Bacterial-Human Competition for Iron

1:30 - Prof. Joanne Stubbe Manganese Ribonucleotide Reductases: Role in Pathogenesis

2:20 - Prof. David MacMillan Photoredox Catalysis in Organic Synthesis

3:10 - Break / Refreshments

3:40 - Prof. Michelle Chang Synthetic Biology Approaches to New Chemistry

4:30 - Baekeland Award Presentation Dr. Jefferson Tilley, NJ-ACS Section Chair

4:40 - Keynote: Prof. Christopher Chang Molecular Imaging Approaches to Mapping and Studying Chemistry in the Brain

5:30 - Closing remarks Dr. Ron Kong, NJ-ACS Awards Chair

5:45 - Reception