Education Awards Committee

The Education Committee of the North Jersey Section oversees educational and community outreach activities and awards. The Committee’s Awards Sub-Committee specifically administers the Edward J. Merrill Award for High School chemistry teachers and cooperates in the dissemination of information and the recommendation of nominees for the E. Emmet Reid Award in Chemistry Teaching at Small Colleges, the Cecil L. Brown Lectureship, the Regional MARM Award for High School Chemistry Teaching, the National ACS James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemsitry Teaching, the Harvey Russell Award, and the Chemistry Olympiad Awards.

Awards Committee

To obtain further information about the Awards Committee please contact:

Bettyann Howson
49 Pippins Way
Morris Township NJ 07960

Committee Members include:

  • Ray Baylouny — Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Bobbie Gorman — Retired, North Brunswick High School
  • Bettyann Howson — Chatham High School
  • Allene Johnson — Retired, Summit High School
  • Diane Krone — No. Highlands Regional High School
  • Val Kuck — Retired, Lucent
  • John Penna — Gov. Livingston High School

The Edward J. Merrill Award

The Merrill Award recognizes outstanding high school chemistry teachers, from the North Jersey Section, for excellence in high school teaching. The 2009 Winner is Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield High School. Click here to download nomination form (PDF).

Past Recipients
1973 Dr. Edwin H Cooper, Madison High School
1974 Dr. Dorothea Hoffman, Westfield High School,
1975 Rex T. Morrison, West Essex High School
1976 George R. Hague, Jr., Bernards High School
1977 No Award Presented – Begins Merrill Award Title
1978 Thomas Kietrys, West Morris Central High School
1979 Otto Salzer, Linden High School,
1980 James Gardner, Millburn High School
1981 Gerald Walker, Livingston High School
1982 Raymond Bangs, Roselle Park High School
1983 Dorothy Lehmkuhl, Lyndhurst High School
1984 Allene Johnson, Summit High School,
1985 Marlene Rudder, Morris Knolls High School
1986 Dr. George R. Gross, Union High School
1987 Edmund Heilmeier, Parsippany Hills High School
1988 Margaret Hicks, East Side High School
1989 Valerie Schroder, Passaic High School
1990 Lorena Tyson, Montclair High School,
1991 Kathleen Foley, Northern Valley Regional High School
1992 Robert Middleton, West Orange High School
1993 Bradley Lakefield, Hawthorne High School
1994 Steven Middleton, Mount Olive High School
1995 John Penna, Governor Livingston High School,
1995 Alan Sills, West Essex Regional High School
1996 Donna Carpinelli, Clifton High School
1997 David Lee, Mountain Lakes High School,
1998 Allan Hodge, Warren Hills High School
1998 Alicia Rice, Barringer High School
1999 BettyAnn Howson, Chatham High School
2000 Borislaw Bilash, James Caldwell High School
2000 Patricia Ruff, Watchung Regional High School
2001 John Koob, Queen of Peace High School
2002 Diane Krone, Northern Valley Regional High School
2003 Bobbi Gorman, Abraham Clark High School in Roselle
2004 Fran Zakutanski, Pascack Valley Regional High School
2005 Brenda Rosenau, Somerville High School
2006 Guy Morin, Ridgewood High School
2007 Claire Miller, Madison High School
2008 Mridula Bajaj, Science High School, Newark
2009 Ara Kahyaoglu, Bergenfield High School

The E. Emmet Reid Award

The E. Emmet Reid Award is administered by the Steering Committee of the Middle-Atlantic Regional Meeting (MARM) for outstanding achievements in teaching chemical sciences at small colleges within the Middle-Atlantic Region.

A small college is an educational institution which has an established B.S. and no Ph.D. teaching program in chemistry or chemical sciences. The Award consists of $750.00 and a major Award Plaque.

The Cecil L. Brown Lectureship

The Cecil L. Brown Lectureship is awarded periodically and is designed to bring outstanding chemists on campus. It provides a $2,000 grant to a department that awards the Ph.D. degree. Learn more about the 2011 winner Louis Brus and the most recent award ceremony that was held at the Fiber Optics Auditorium on the Busch Campus of Rutgers University, Piscataway NJ.

Past Recipients

1969 Paul Flory
1970 Vladimir Prelog
1972 Robert Reid
1973 Linus Pauling
1974 Burt Christensen
1975 Anthony M. Trozzolo
1976 James Roth — Spring
1976 Max Tischler — Fall
1978 Robert Lawrence & Kurt Frisch
1979 Leo Sternbach
1980 Melvin Calvin
1982 Herbert C. Brown
1984 Alexander Rich
1986 Sir John Vane
1988 Paul Bartlett
1990 Joseph Laskowski
1992 Kyriacos Nicolaou
1994 Dudley Herschbach
1996 Peter B. Dervan
1998 Ronald Breslow
2006 Robin Hochstrasser
2009 Robert Langer
2011 Louis Brus

The MARM Award For High School Chemistry Teaching

The MARM Award is presented at the MARM meeting to one teacher from the sponsoring sections. The winner is selected by the MARM Committee. Nomination is through receipt of the Section Award (Edward J. Merrill Award) in High School Chemistry Teaching. The Regional Award consists of $1,000 and a Certificate of Recognition for the recipient and another for the recipient’s school.

The James Bryant Conant Award

The James Bryant Conant Award is sponsored by the Ethyl Corporation. Selection is from Regional Award winners and others nominated where regional awards do not exist. The winner is chosen by the National Award Committee. The Conant Award consists of $5,000 and a certificate and is presented at the Annual Spring Meeting of the ACS.

Harvey Russell Award For Service To Chemical Education

May 17, 2009 Award Banquet – Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield HS receives the Edward J. Merrill Award for Excellence in HS Chemistry Teaching from NoJACS secretary Bettyann Howson

May 17, 2009 Award Banquet – Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield HS receives the Edward J. Merrill Award for Excellence in HS Chemistry Teaching from NoJACS secretary Bettyann Howson

Past Recipients
2006 – Jeannette Brown
2009 – Richard Moog

Go to Top