2023 Baekeland Award Symposium

Lenfell Hall, Mansion (Hennessy Hall), Fairleigh Dickinson University Florham campus, Madison, NJ 285 Madison Avenue, Madison

The 2023 Baekeland Award Symposium will be held in honor of Prof. Keary M. Engle (The Scripps Research Institute) on April 12, 2024 at Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison, New Jersey. Dr. Engle will be celebrated for his novel catalytic alkene functionalization reactions, inventing general and versatile strategies for the programmed functionalization of olefins and developing nickel and palladium catalysts that are widely used in academic and industrial research labs around the world. The speakers of the symposium include Dr. Steven Wisniewski (Bristol-Myers Squibb), Tianning Diao (New York University), Peng Liu (University of Pittsburgh), and Scott Miller (Yale University). Detailed program and agenda to follow. Keary Engle -- Photo by Don Boomer The title of his talk will be "Metal–olefin interactions and the catalytic chemistry they inspire" Abstract & Bio Please see the flyer for the schedule and other information.  Please register on the right. Please note:  Registration is extended until Friday, April 12th morning. Schedule 1:00  Registration 1:30  Welcome Address Dr. Dorothy J. Phillips, ACS President-Elect Dr. Sandra Keyser, NJ-ACS & Baekeland Symposium Chair 1:45  Dr. Steven Wisniewski How Base Metals Catalysis Can Impact Process Chemistry 2:25  Dr. Tianning Diao Leveraging One- and Two-Electron Mechanisms in Nickel-Catalyzed

Free – $15.00
Go to Top