The Sixty-First Annual Research Conference of the Intercollegiate Council of the American Chemical Society Student Affiliate Chapters, North Jersey Section was held at Fairleigh Dickinson University on Friday, April 24th, 2009.

A total of nine presentations were given by students from the College of Saint Elizabeth, Drew University, Fairleigh Dickinson University, and the New Jersey Institute of Technology. The event was judged by Maureen Chan (formerly of Bell Labs), Kelly George (Roche), Bill Suits (ACS) and Sarah Young (Merck). A great time was had by all!

The Winners

Note: * designates the student’s chemistry mentor(s)

First Place Award — The Jean Asell Durana Award For Best Research Presentation

Ann Mularz and Dr. Mary-Ann Pearsal*
Department of Chemistry, Drew University, Madison, NJ 07940
Title: Coordination of 1,6-Hexanediol in Triosmium Carbonyl Clusters

Second Place Award — For Outstanding Research Presentation

Marc I. Lindner, Dr. Gloria T. Anderle* and Dr. Daniel J. Calcagnetti*
Department of Chemistry & Pharmaceutical Science and the Department of Psychology, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Madison, NJ 07940
Title: Molecular Dynamic Simulations of u-Opioid Receptors and an Irreversible Opioid Antagonist ß-Funaltrexamine

Third Place Award — For Outstanding Research Presentation

Itsaso Auzmendi Murua, Rubik Asatryan, and Dr. Joseph W. Bozzelli*
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark NJ 07102
Title: Gas Phase Mercury Conversion in H2, O2, Chloro and Bromo C1-Hydrocarbon and NOx Comustion Effluente from Use of an Elementary Kinetic Mechanism